Teen Voice: Why me?

One of life’s biggest questions when something goes wrong is ‘why me?’  What did I do to deserve this? While it’s a question that passes through our minds, we often find the good in the bad in order to cope with our circumstances. We spoke with Morgan (14) who was diagnosed with type 1 at age five.

When you were first diagnosed how did you deal with it?

alone“When I was first diagnosed I didn’t feel much different since my older sister also had diabetes. As time went on though, I definitely got insecure to talk about diabetes or show my pump.”

Did you ever question why you were diagnosed with diabetes?

“I thought it was something everyone got I didn’t know a difference. I questioned it a lot when I got older. Why do I have to do this 5-8 times a day? Or why can’t I just be a normal kid anymore? Now, I question when I am on a good blood sugar streak and then I go really high or low, I think, ‘come on body just let me have one good day!'”

What usually goes through your mind when you think why me? 

“I know that I am lucky to have the medical tools I need and I am very thankful for my family and friends who care about me. With that being said, I think this is a blessing in disguise. I know I want to become an endocrinologist when I grow up, so I hope to help people like me. I am very lucky to have my older sister Melissa who has been a diabetic for 14 years helps me too. She is the only person I know who actually understands what it feels like and I am very grateful. I also have an amazing endocrinologist who also understands. At my doctors, we have a social worker we are very close with too.” 

What advice do you have for other teens that are questioning, why me?

“To any teenager or actually anyone battling this disease, I want you to know that you aren’t alone! You may feel like it, trust me! But, you aren’t! There are millions of people who know what you are going through! Also, if people say anything ignorant about “getting diabetes after eating this” ignore them! I used to cry because I felt like they were making fun of me. Please don’t feel like that! We are all in this together. I wake up everyday and say, ‘I may have diabetes but diabetes doesn’t have me.'” 

Leave a Reply

